This cottage is a true Muskoka gem, with such a rich & vibrant history. One look and it will remind you of your childhood and what cottaging in Muskoka truly means. The very same family that owns the cottage today purchased the land that Rocklon sits on today in 1937. It has been cottaged by 5 generations; just imagine the memories this family has built over the past 77 years. Located on Lake of Bays on prestigious South Portage Road with 585’ of waterfront this 2600+ sq ft, 5-bedroom cottage offers a richness of character from the beautiful custom stone fireplace that centres itself around both the living & dining rooms. The large bay windows with breathtaking lake views and the detailed stonework surrounding the outside walk-ways, stairs, docks and cottage. Now it’s time for a new family to start making memories at Rocklon. Experience the fishing, the sunrises, the sunsets, the misty fall mornings, the spectacular sky at night and the ultimate experience; watching the full moon rise over the east shore and cross over the sky right in front of you.
A Brief History
- In 1894 a Mr John Hicks bought this property from Mrs McLaughin whose first husband (Mr Jacobs) had brought the property from Mr Osborne. At this time Mr Osborne owned all the lots 22 &23 &24 in both the 10th and 11th Concession. A Mr Golden came into possession of this property and then sold it in 1923 to Mr R J Hutchison (President of The Muskoka Wood Manufacturing Co. Ltd. ) .
- Mr Hutchison then sold the property to Mrs Daniel Frederick Hassel (Hamilton Ont.) on Oct 15 1937. Construction of Rocklon was started in the summer of 1938 by a local builder named Louis Green. His name is in the cement above the door inside the basement. Lou's home was at the West corner of South Portage Rd. and Marina Rd.
- Rocklon has "cottaged" 5 generations ; from D.F.Hassel (1 Son 1 Daughter) ; W.C.Hassel (2 Sons 1 Daughter) ; W.F.Hassel (2 Sons 1 Daughter) + 6 Grandchildren
- Through the majority of the years at Rocklon, the Bullock Family was at the forefront to look after the cottage for maintenance and upkeep. It's obvious that stonework was their specialty. The Father, Albert, was a Barnardo Boy and he built his home on South Portage Rd where he raised a rather large family.
History of The Portage Flyer
Rocklon is located close to the old main dock -- the site of the famous "Portage Flyer" -- a narrow gauge railroad whose tracks were laid in 1903 and it was recognized as the smallest commercial railroad in the world. http://www.portageflyer.org/
It carried tourists,locals,campers and equipment over the 1 1/8th miles of track between South Portage and North Portage (Pen Lake).
The Portage Flyer was met by the Steamship Algonquin at North Portage and the Steamship Iroquois at South Portage. These boats carried tourists to their destinations along with mail and other supplies. It is said that both of these boats were built at the point where Rocklon's boat house is now located and the keel of the Algonquin was broken as it was transported across to N . Portage.
In 1942, at only a few weeks old, the current owner of Rocklon was lying in a bassinet under the birch trees on the front lawn. In the late 40's and into the 50's , when at the cottage, he spent the summer in a tent on the point, fascinated by the smell and noise of the Portage Flyer getting ready for it's trips and watching the Iroquois come and go with it's cloud of smoke and blow of it's horn. These were special moments that he still can picture to this day!
By 1957, in it's last year of service, he was allowed to work as a brakeman on the Portage Flyer with Gerry Bullock watching every move that I made. How great is that?
Rocklon -- South Portage -- Lake of Bays -- the Train --the Boat -- the Fishing -- the Sunrise -- the Sunset --the misty Fall mornings --the Spectacular Sky at night --- and the Ultimate is watching the Full Moon rise over the East shore and cross over the sky right in front of you!